## 24.—Legislatures of Ontario, 1945-66, as at June 30, 1966

Note.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 79; for 1924-34 in the 1938 edition, p. 114; and for 1935-45 in the 1963-64 edition, p. 87.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
June 4, 1945 June 7, 1948 Nov. 22, 1951 June 9, 1955 June 11, 1959 Sept. 25, 1963	22nd	5 5	July 16, 1945 Feb. 10, 1949 Feb. 21, 1952 Sept. 8, 1955 Jan. 26, 1960 Oct. 29, 1963	Apr. 27, 1948 Oct. 6, 1951 May 2, 1955 May 4, 1959 Aug. 16, 1963

<sup>1</sup> Life of Legislature not expired at June 30, 1966.

## 25.—Seventeenth Ministry of Ontario, as at June 30, 1966

(Party standing at latest General Election, Sept. 25, 1963: 77 Progressive Conservative, 24 Liberal and 7 New Democratic Party.)

Note.—Ministers are shown at date of original appointment as a Minister and at date of appointment to present portfolio, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and President of the Council  Minister of Lands and Forests  Minister of Public Welfare  Provincial Treasurer  Minister of Public Works  Minister of Health  Minister of Municipal Affairs  Provincial Secretary and Minister of Citizenship  Minister of Mines  Minister of Labour  Minister of Agriculture and Food  Minister of Highways  Minister of Transport  Minister of Touristn and Information  Minister of Education  Minister of Education  Minister of Education  Minister of Economics and Development  Attorney General  Minister of Geonomics and Development	Hon. James Noble Allan. Hon. Thomas Ray Connell. Hor. Matthew Bulloch Dymond. Hon. Joseph Wilfrid Spooner. Hon. Joen Yaremko. Hon. George Calvin Wardbope. Hon. Henry Leslie Rowntree. Hon. Allan Grossman. Hon. William Archeson Stewart Hon. Charles Steel MacNaughton. Hon. Irwin Haskett. Hon. James Alexander Charles Auld. Hon. William Grenville Davis. Hon. William Grenville Davis.	Dec. 22, 1958 Aug. 17, 1955 Sept. 17, 1948 Jan. 5, 1955 Nov. 1, 1956 July 18, 1957 July 18, 1957 Apr. 28, 1958 Dec. 22, 1958 Nov. 21, 1960 Nov. 21, 1960 Nov. 21, 1960 Nov. 8, 1961 Nov. 8, 1961 Oct. 25, 1962 Oct. 25, 1962 Oct. 25, 1962 Nov. 8, 1963 Mar. 26, 1964	Nov. 8, 1961 Oct. 25, 1962 Aug. 17, 1955 Apr. 28, 1958 Dec. 22, 1958 Oct. 25, 1962 Nov. 8, 1961 Nov. 8, 1961 Oct. 25, 1962 Aug. 14, 1963 Aug. 14, 1963 Oct. 25, 1962 Oct. 16, 1963 Nov. 8, 1961 Oct. 16, 1963 Nov. 8, 1963 Oct. 16, 1963 Nov. 8, 1963 Nov. 8, 1963 Oct. 16, 1963 Nov. 8, 1963 Nov. 8, 1963 Oct. 16, 1963 Nov. 8, 1963 Nov. 8, 1963 Nov. 8, 1963

## Subsection 7.—Manitoba

In addition to a Lieutenant-Governor, Manitoba has an Executive Council at present composed of 14 members and a Legislative Assembly of 57 members elected for a statutory term of five years. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1870) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 113; since that date, the position has been held by the Hon. Errick F. Willis, sworn in on Jan. 15, 1960, followed by the Hon. Richard S. Bowles, appointed July 2, 1965. Premiers since Confederation are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 114.

The Premier of the province is paid a salary of \$18,000 per annum and each of the other members of the Cabinet \$15,000. Members of the Legislature are each paid a sessional indemnity of \$3,200 and a tax-free expense allowance of \$1,600 plus an allowance of \$10 a day for a period of 60 days continuous sitting including Saturdays and Sundays for members outside Metro Winnipeg who have to take board and lodging in Winnipeg during legislative sessions, and Cabinet Ministers in charge of a department each receive